Year of Publication


Degree Name

Doctor of Musical Arts (DMA)

Document Type

Doctoral Dissertation


Fine Arts



First Advisor

Dr. James B. Campbell


Music for solo multiple-percussion (“multi-percussion”) has been rapidly developing in terms of quantity of and creativity exhibited within works since this genre was established in the late 1950s. It is important to underscore, analyze, and question the music of composers who have helped further multi-percussion towards the highest level of musical excellence possible as the genre continues to expand and mature. Finnish-born composer Kaija Saairaho has achieved international fame and success with her acoustic, electronic, and electro-acoustic (the simultaneous combination of electronic and acoustic elements) compositions. She has a large body of musical works, including two compositions for solo percussionist with electronics. Six Japanese Gardens and Trois Rivières: Delta. Through research and analysis of these two works, this study will provide clarity on the complexities the modem percussionist must confront by offering information on the pieces’ methodology and background, as well as optional solutions to performance issues.

Included in

Music Commons