KWRRI Research Reports


This study examined municipal and private water supplies in the Upper Forks of the Kentucky River. Municipal water systems in Letcher, Knott, Leslie, and Breathitt counties in the North Fork Kentucky River Basin, Leslie county in the Middle Fork Kentucky River Basin, and Owsley and Clay counties in the South Fork Kentucky River were examined for current and projected water supply adequacy and water system needs. Eight municipal water suppliers- Fleming-Neon Water Company, Whitesburg Municipal Water, Hindman Municipal Water Works, Hazard Water Department, Jackson Municipal Water Works, Booneville Water and Sewer, and Manchester Water Works- and three purchasing districts: Vicco Water System, Hima-Sibert Water District and North Manchester Water District- were included in the study.

Publication Date


Notes/Citation Information

Prepared for the Kentucky River Authority by the Kentucky Water Resource Research Institute.