Kentucky Geological Survey Report of Investigations


The Upton 7.5-minute quadrangle is located south of Elizabethtown along the boundaries between Hardin, Hart, and Larue Counties and within the Mississippian Plateau physiographic region (McDowell, 1986). Topography is characterized by the low relief Pennyroyal plain that sits at altitudes below about 750 ft above sea level, the ridges, spurs, and isolated knobs of the intensely dissected Dripping Springs escarpment; the low relief cap of the escarpment landforms is part of the Mammoth Cave plateau region. Moore (1972) mapped the bedrock geology of the quadrangle, which was later digitized by Toth (2006). Mississippian bedrock is exposed throughout most of the quadrangle and is cut by several northwest-southeast trending vertical faults. The Ste. Genevieve Limestone is the oldest lithology and underlies most of the Pennyroyal region. The Beaver Bend Limestone and Paoli Limestone, Sample Sandstone, and Reelsville Limestone stratigraphic sequence underlie the remaining areas of the Pennyroyal, as well as the lower slopes of the Dripping Spring escarpment. The Beech Creek Limestone, Big Clifty Sandstone, and Haney Limestone Members of the Golconda Formation are exposed along the upper slopes of the Dripping Springs escarpment the upper plains of the Mammoth Cave plateau. The Upper Mississippian Hardinsburg Limestone is exposed on the highest ridges of the Dripping Springs, and the Pennsylvanian Caseyville Formation is locally exposed around the highest peak in the southern part of the Upton quadrangle. Previously mapped surficial deposits include minor areas of alluvium in major tributaries, and “slumped” areas across the quadrangle (Moore, 1972).

Publication Date

Winter 12-20-2022



Report Number


Funding Information

This map was generated using new field mapping along with compilation of unpublished and previously published data, and was funded in part by the U.S. Geological Survey’s National Cooperative Mapping Program under the STATEMAP program authorized by the National Geologic Mapping Act of 1992, Grant No. G21AC10834, and by the Kentucky Geological Survey.