Year of South Asia

Year of South Asia


Year of South Asia: Its people, societies, sciences, arts and life.

One hundred million years ago the Indian subcontinent, a triangular shaped raft of continental plate, slammed into Asia, threw up a semicircular rim of Himalayan mountains three miles high, and gave birth to the region we now call South Asia. Culturally, geopolitically and geologically complex, South Asia is now home to eight countries: Afghanistan, Nepal, Bhutan, Pakistan, Bangladesh, India, Sri Lanka and the Maldives. Read more


Browse the Year of South Asia Collections:

Early 20th Century South Asia

India Through the Eyes of Ellen Churchill Semple