Over the course of its history, the Commonwealth of Kentucky has operated under four separate constitutions. This collection contains the records available for each of Kentucky’s constitutional conventions and will enable researchers to gather information on the drafters’ intent for each of the constitutions.


Submissions from 1799


Journal of the convention, begun and held at the capitol in the town of Frankfort, on Monday the twenty-second day of July, in the year of Our Lord one thousand, seven hundred and ninety-nine., Kentucky Constitutional Convention (1799)

Submissions from 1792


Journal of the First Constitutional Convention of Kentucky, Kentucky Constitutional Convention (1792)